Everyday Wellness / Healthy Eating

Using What You Have On Hand

Some weeks, I don’t meal plan. It just doesn’t happen each and every week. Most weeks I do, as I feel it makes my shopping easier, and I waste less food by having specific meals planned out. This week was a week where I chose not to do it.

It is one more chore on my to-do list, and since this week I was pulling back on a lot of those kinds of things, this felt right.

Well, I always have an assortment of meats, veggies, and other pantry items on hand, and I am glad that I did for tonight’s dinner. I went with a  minimal approach to dinner. A quick and easy Chicken and Veggie Stir Fry, which the whole family loves.

ingredchickstirfry

Here is my recipe:

Chicken And Veggies Stir Fry

2 TBSP coconut oil

2-3 breast of chicken

1/2 tsp. sea salt

Heat  1 TBSP of coconut oil in a skillet, cut chicken breasts into 1″ chunks and brown in heated oil. Set aside while you cook the veggies.

Add the other TBSP of coconut oil to pan and add in:

1 sliced onion

3 sliced carrots

2 celery stalks, sliced

1 diced red pepper

1 broccoli crown cut into small “trees”

1 c. snow peas

8 ounce can of sliced water chestnuts

2 cloves of minced garlic

1/2 tsp. sea salt

1/2 tsp. ground ginger (you can also use fresh)

1 TBSP of coconut aminos

2 tsp. fish sauce

1/2 c. chicken broth (I used homemade)

Put these ingredients in according to the order above, as different veggies cook faster than others. Add cooked chicken back into the skillet with the veggies.When they are just about done(you don’t want to overcook and make them mushy), shut off heat, set aside, and add 1/4 of slivered almonds to the top.

Serve with Jasmine  Rice, or what ever else you choose. Enjoy!

chickvegstirfry

Be EPIC! Be YOU!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

