Healthy Eating

What’cha Eatin’?…

I thought that I’d quickly post a bit about what I am eating and doing these days…sometimes I get lots of these kinds of questions, and what better way to help folks but by sharing on this format.

eli carrots 2

eli carrots

eli carrots3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So I have been working out, strength training, 2-3 times per week, as well as walking 2 miles or so per day for 3-4 days per week, with good weather anyway.  I am however taking this week off, as I have been feeling sore for longer after workouts and a bit more fatigue had settled in.  Having had Adrenal Fatigue in the past, I need to be “on it” when it comes to stress responses. So after reading this article, I decided to talk this week off, and walk more instead when I can, and relax more! I feel great, and am so glad that I listen to my body!

hiking shoes

As for food, this is what a typically day looks like for me:

Breakfast– 3 fried eggs in Kerrygold butter, 3 gluten free pork sausage, 1-2 tbsp. sauerkraut, sautéed spinach, with 2 small cups of coffee and  2 tbsp. of coconut milk

Lunch– Leftovers like Shepards Pie, or Chicken Thighs with roasted cauliflower and green beans

Dinner– Grass fed meatballs, stewed collard greens, and baked sweet potato.

Snacks (if I need them) are almonds, or celery with almond butter or a hard boiled egg or two mashed in my homemade mayo.

I drink tons of water, and use lemon in the morning to help digestion. I add 1tsp of apple cider vinegar to 6 oz of water before breakfast and dinner, again for digestion. I love peppermint tea, as well as other herbal blends, and try to get one green tea in per day if possible.

Pretty simple! No fancy-pants ingredients or recipes.

I use the crock pot once per week for an easy prepped meal, and make big one pot meals for easy cooking and lots of leftovers.

crockpot

Hope this helps make your daily cooking easier!

Keep being EPIC!…

