Healthy Eating

My New Favorite Coffee Substitute

Don’t get me wrong, I love, love, love a great cup of coffee.

The taste, the smell, the way the cup fits into my hand! Ahhh, it’s good stuff. But every so often, I get the cue that I should step away from the coffee pot for a bit.  This is one of those times.

I usually have a cup or two in the morning and then I am on my way, but as the spring has sprung in my world, life has gotten busier.  In result, I am turning to an afternoon cup of Joe more often lately, it’s more of habit than anything really.

What’s wrong with that you say? Well, for me it goofs up my natural rhythms, making me wake in the middle of the night and have difficulty falling back to sleep. I am a stickler with my sleep hygiene, so having this nuisance pop up is a deal breaker for me.

I have found the most amazing substitute for that occasional-needed- afternoon  boost (like today). It’s Teechino, and it’s delicious!  It comes ground and you can use it right in your coffee pot, but  has barley in it. Being gluten free I choose the tea bag version,  which is gluten free.dandelion teechino

It tastes like a yummy cup of coffee, without caffeine, and because it contains some powerful herbs, like dandelion and chicory, has lots of benefits as well. Talk about more bang for your buck!  Its much easier on those with digestive concerns as well, because of  it’s low acidic quality and contains prebiotic and inulin.

I haven’t had it iced yet, but I am venturing a guess, that it is just lovely!

teechino

Happy Sipping!

 

 

