Healthy Eating

Well, you cant get anymore grassfed than that!

I was lucky enough the other day to receive a beautiful cut of fresh venison from my generous brother.  I was so excited because, one, we were getting low on meat for meals for the week, and two, because I had never made anything from venison before!

So, I trusted my culinary instincts and decided to turn it into a beautiful, hearty stew.

I had forewarned Lily in the morning, just because I wanted her to know it was deer, and get her head wrapped around that.  We obviously encourage eating like our ancestors and promote living sustainably, and although we didn’t hunt the deer our selves, someone else did and we were grateful that it gave its life so that we could nourish our family.

Dinner time came, I served everyone’s bowls and served it along side a fresh salad, and within seconds the bowls were empty! Lily asked for seconds before anyone else, and Eli was literally shoveling it in his mouth with his hands, then drank all of the broth left in his bowl! Lily said it was the best stew she had ever had! And of course I agreed, as did Bernie. Success!

 

Here is what I did:

venison prep

 

 

 

 

 

 

Added cubed venison(left any bit of fat that was there on it) to the crockpot with a TBSP of Arrowroot Powder. Added 1 tsp. sea salt, 1 tsp. dried thyme, 1 tsp. dried parsley, and a 1/2 tsp. paprika to it and mixed to coat the meat.

I then diced one onion, three celery stalks (tops included), 4 carrots, and about 12 fingerling potatoes (Lily loves potatoes) and added them to the crockpot.

I then poured 1 1/2 cups of homemade bone broth, and a 1/4 c. red wine (Shiraz, we don’t drink but I had some around and it worked!). Mixed a bit, and let cook slow and low for 8 hours.

It was so delicious that Lily opted for ANOTHER bowl rather than finish her salad, so of course we both said, “YES!”

This was such a grounding experience for me, one that I had really never had before. I had eaten venison as a kid, but had know connection to eat, nor did I know I was eating it most of the time.  I truly knew where this deer came from, and as I was cutting it up, felt such gratitude to the animal for feeding my family in such a nourishing way.  I was astounded by the amazing color and consistency of the meat, and was reminded of an interesting story that I had heard while going through my nutrition program.  When native Americans needed to be swift, fast, and light they would purposefully eat deer in order to take on the energetic properties of the animal. Fascinating don’t you think!

 

