Healthy Eating

What We Had Lastnight…

As I opened the refrigerator yesterday I asked myself, “Is it Friday already?”…how could the fridge be bare already, I just went shopping on Friday!

Well, such is life with a growing family! So creating dinner last night was all about thinking outside the box  a bit.

What did I have on hand ?; spaghetti squash, broccoli, celery, carrots, onion, garlic, ground turkey, and coconut milk. So that’s what I made, and we all gobbled it up, and went back for seconds.

coconut milk in a canbroccolispag squash

 

 

It wasn’t fancy, or from a cook book that has the New York Times endorsing it, but it was REAL, nourishing, and delicious! Here’s what I did…

Slice lengthwise and place it face down in a casserole dish, with 1/4 cup water on the bottom.  Bake Spaghetti Squash at 375 for 40-45 minutes.

While that was baking, I added about 1-2 TBSP of cooking fat (bacon fat) to a skillet. Then added diced onions, carrots, and celery until they were softened a bit. Then I added the ground turkey, and cooked until no longer pink, then added  a pinch of sea salt, and a tsp of dried tarragon. After a few minutes more, I added on small crown of broccoli cut up relatively small, and cooked until everything was ready. I then removed from heat, and added about 1/2 full fat coconut milk to the pan and stirred well.

Once the squash was roasted, I pulled it out, let it cool a bit, and started to “rake” it up for serving.  A scoop of squash and a big scoop of the Turkey Tarragon mixture on top=MMMMMMMM!

It was an awesome lunch today too, with some avocado slices on top!

My meals aren’t always planned, and they are not usually laborious, but I do make them hearty and satisfying for the whole family!

