Healthy Eating

Why Batch Cook?

Some people may think I am a little crazy for spending so much time in the kitchen cooking and preparing food, and maybe I am but I do not see it as a waste of time or a ‘punishment’.

I see it as smart!

It’s days like today, where it’s a little dreary and cool where I am glad to have many warm, comfort-food leftover options in my fridge from a week of cooking!

On Sunday’s I typically do the basics like hard boiled eggs, cut some raw veggies like carrots and celery (saving celery tops for soups or other recipes) and I make things like a batch of mayo, some muffins for quick breakfasts at the beginning of the week or get a batch of broth going in the crock pot.

This week was no exception!

We had some leftover grilled chicken from a friends birthday cook out that we got to bring home so it was turned into Cranberry Walnut Chicken Salad; 4 breasts made a huge bucket, and we are still munching on it!

Roast Chicken Dinner on Sunday has made way for a few different lunchtime options, or simple snack with some avocado along side it.

Chili has been perfect for Lily’s lunch at school; it goes perfect in her thermos.

Butternut Squash, Pear and Sage Beef Stew has been my and Eli’s lunch for days.

Pumpkin Cranberry muffins made a quick brekkie with some breakfast sausage at the beginning of the week; they’re gone because they are delicious!

The Maple Glazed Roasted Carrots that I made last night as a side dish made an awesome side dish for Eli’s lunch today with some Applegate turkey and Kerrygold cheese.

 

So as you can see, when you take a little time and prepare some amazing food, it lasts all week and there are NO excuses for veering off the path of healthy (and delicious) eating! Saves on money and time, and fuels your family so there is more time for fun!

But sometimes this happens….

Food prep and easter 008

 

 

 

Happy Cooking! ( and if you having any questions on some of these recipes, don’t hesitate to ask; I tend to whip things up as I go)

 

 

