Everyday Wellness

Update on ‘heal-thy-self’…

Well, its been just about a week since I started revamping things around here, in order to heal-thy-self.   Although the  blood work has not come back,  I can guarantee that if I had the same tests done today, the results would NOT be the same!

If my soreness-pain scale was a 9 last week, today I am at a 1! Well look at that, I pulled some things from my diet (elimination diet) in order to let my body recover from whatever is going on, and I am already on the mend.  I have to admit, this has not been easy. Not because I have been eating with wild abandon, but because I have a family that I need to cook for as well as myself, and they can have the typically Paleo foods with no problem.

This time in my life is the ultimate example of the phrase “no one diet is good for every-body”…boy-o-boy is that the truth.

My Paleo is definitely not my families Paleo, but my dietary tweaks are  helping me and that’s all that matters, right?!

So what have I done, let’s see;  Completely SUGAR free (not even maple syrup), GLUTEN/GRAIN free, DAIRY free (except a little ghee to cook in), NIGHTSHADE free (even black pepper for seasoning), EGG free, NUT free, and  low glycemic fruits like strawberries, blueberries or the occasional granny smith apple on a salad.   The tricky part here is that I have to remind myself to not lick my fingers after making Lily a almond butter apple sandwich, or tasting the delicious berry muffins that I made for the crew.  I have been super dedicated in my quest to feel better, and the decrease in inflammation in my body, especially my shoulder, is fantastic.  I have also added an afternoon cup of green tea with a teaspoon of coconut oil, instead of a small black iced coffee.

My commitment t this is so great that I have even given up my beloved Bulleproof Coffee in the morning! SIGH…. but in addition to that I have decided to have just one cup with coconut milk(full fat from the can) instead of the luscious butter/coconut oil blend.  My husband still blends up this frothy goodness, but I just look at it, pass it by, and make my coffee my own way!  This seems to be just fine with me and some days, like this morning I add a little extra fat with a teaspoon of coconut oil.  I am ready to give coffee up all together if necessary, but lets face it, I DON’T want that to happen!

I had an eating-out challenge straight away, as I went to a good friends wedding this weekend, but I just ate the steak and asparagus, and pushed the mound of mashed potatoes aside!  Feeling good meant way more to me than an obscene amount of nightshade-y goodness!  I am proud to say that I stuck to my guns.

Besides the food aspect, I have done something that I have not been doing; having fun!  Just listening to music that brings me happy, simple memories has been extremely therapeutic.  As a former dancer/dance instructor, my body has not been movin’-and-groovin’ lately, with places to be, kids to care for, dishes to do, floors to be swept and so on.   But yesterday, as I prepped my staples for the week, hard boiled eggs and sliced veggies etc., I found myself boogying down at the counter, and I actually felt my mind and body connection engage, and SMILE! The endorphins released by adding PLAY and FUN into my day, have cut down the inflammation like flicking the switch on a wall.  Why didn’t I think of that before.  That being said, Pandora has been playing on my computer and phone for days; let’s keep me happy shall we.

baby singing

 

 

 

 

I am always a big on practicing gratitude whenever I can, but I even went so far to thank my husband for allowing me to be home, and work from home, so that I can put my beautiful, little cherubs to bed at night; it’s priceless and I am grateful for that!

Well, sorry for such a long post, but I wanted to share my journey, as it may be helpful to some of you out there.

Cheers, and have an awesome day!

happy woman

 

 

